Scientific program

SAME 16 has adopted the motto: “From Boat to Bench” (integrating field observation with lab experiments) to highlight the need to better relate field observations, including the multi-OMIC approaches with critical lab based experiments to dissect observations. Past SAME meetings have emphasized the use of powerful OMICS approaches by aquatic microbial ecologists to explore the diversity of microbial communities and their functions worldwide. To better understand diversity, function and the ecological role of aquatic microbial communities, in-depth experimental studies are once again being adopted.  The performance of these experimental studies in accordance with well-established standards of ecological research, i.e. sufficient replication, hypothesis-driven research will increasingly shed new light on the response of aquatic microorganisms to environmental change, interactions between microorganisms and the role of microorganisms in global biogeochemical cycling.

SAME 16 will provide an opportunity to highlight the novel studies and approaches towards integrating experimental approaches with field-based observations. SAME 16 also wants to promote side issues such as “aquatic fungi” and aims for a better integration of modelling approaches into aquatic microbiology research. Finally, we want to present New Frontiers and Horizons in the field of Aquatic Microbial Ecology to stimulate future research ideas via application of methods and research approaches from other research areas. We hope you will enjoy the many social activities and the nice environment of the meeting place, i.e. the New Palais in Potsdam and the nearby palace gardens. The city of Potsdam, neighbouring Berlin, is relatively small, but offers a range of historical sites and a large variety of good food. These are excellent prerequisites to render the meeting successful both in terms of scientific and personal exchange.

Keynote Speaker

Scientific Committee

Roberto Danovaro (Stazione Zoologica Anton Dohrn, Napoli, Italy), Ellen Decaestecker (KU Leuven, Leuven, Belgium), Ellen van Donk (Netherlands Institute of Ecology, NIOO-KNAW, Wageningen, The Netherlands), Ester Eckert (Institute of Ecosystem Studies IES-CNR, Verbania, Italy), Pep Gasol (Institute de Ciències del Mar in Barcelona, ICM-CSIC, Barcelona, Spain), Paul del Giorgio (Université du Québec à Montréal, UQAM, Montreal, Canada), Ana Godhe (University of Gothenburg, Gothenburg, Sweden), Yulia Gubelit (Russian Academy of Science, RAS, St. Petersburg, Russia), Nina Gunde-Cimerman (University of Ljubljana, Ljubljana, Slovenia), Gerhard Herndl (University of Vienna, Vienna, Austria), Jef Huisman (University of Amsterdam, Amsterdam, The Netherlands), Klaus Jürgens (Institute of Baltic Sea Research, IOW, Warnemünde, Germany), Veljo Kisand (University of Tartu, Tartu, Estonia), Michal Koblížek (Algatech, Czech Academy of Science, Trebon Czech Republic), Gipsi Lima-Mendez (Université Libre de Bruxelles, Brussels, Belgium), Ramon Massana (Institute de Ciències del Mar in Barcelona, ICM-CSIC, Barcelona, Spain), Takeshi Miki (Ryukoku University Seta, Otsu, Japan), Sandi Orlić (Institut Ruđer Bošković, Zagreb, Croatia, Jörg Overmann (Leibniz Institute DSMZ-German Collection of Microorganisms and Cell Cultures, Braunschweig, Germany), Carlos Pedrós-Alió (National Center for Biotechnology, CNB, Madrid, Spain), Jakob Pernthaler (University of Zürich, Zürich Suisse), Helle Ploug (University of Gotheburg, Gotheburg, Sweden), Anupam Sengupta (University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg, Luxembourg), Daniel Sher (University of Haifa, Haifa, Israel, Karel Šimek (Institute of Hydrobiology, Biology Centre CAS, České Budějovice, Czech Republic), Télesphore Sime-Ngando (Université Clermont Auvergne, Clermont-Ferrand, France), Meinhard Simon University of Oldenburg, ICBM, Oldenburg, Germany), David Walsh (Concordia University, Montreal, Canada), Gianluca Corno, (Institute of Ecosystem Studies IES-CNR, Verbania, Italy)

Local Committee

Mina Bizic, Danny Ionescu, Luca Zoccarato, Jason Woodhouse, Jonna Teikari, Dietlind Sydow, Luis Alberto Villalba Rubio, Silke Van den Wyngaert

Preliminary Schedule

You can download the schedule here:

Download Schedule (PDF)